Stacking the Shelves – #7

stacking-the-shelves

It is once again Saturday, which means it’s time for another Stacking the Shelves, hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. In Stacking the Shelves, you show the books you’ve recently purchased, borrowed or otherwise got, be it physical or virtual which you, naturally, will be adding to your shelves! For more information about it all, visit this page.

Aside from Netgalley titles, I got a book as a gift from a friend and I was also contacted to review an upcoming release, so that’s all exciting and I love it.

  

 Book 1: The Pandora Chronicles by Ryan Attard

23254054A nomadic alien species found itself trapped on a new-born Earth billions of years ago. And they were here just long enough to leave a legacy behind – buried in our DNA.

1713 – Captain Jack Finnegan’s remarkable success as a pirate and privateer turns out to be something much deeper. He’ll need all of his wits, and a bit more, to survive his quest for the powerful relic left behind by the gods.

2012 – The famous archaeologist Nick Solomon never could pass up a good adventure, especially not the search for a mysterious artifact. He’d just prefer not being stuck between a crime lord, a secret government agency, and the past he’s tried so hard to forget.

Hold on to your seats for another great fiction series by Ryan Attard, author of The Legacy Series. Pandora Chronicles Book 1 is exactly the action-packed, swashbuckling, firefight of a science fiction mystery adventure you’ve been looking for!

______________________________________________

Goodreads page // Author page //

I was asked to read and review this book and I happily said yes — I haven’t read nearly enough books in this genre to write it off and I will always be willing to read books regardless, so I’m really excited about this! I’ll be reading this shortly so I’ll be able to have a review up before the release date!

Book 2: The Melody of Light by M.L. Rice

21413905Siblings Riley and Aidan Gordon are survivors. Together, they survived an abusive childhood, and when a fiery accident incinerates all they have—except for each other—they survive that, too. The tragedy leaves them with burdens and pain beyond their years, but it also sets them free to forge their own paths. Aidan’s road to happiness seems smooth and carefree. But Riley continues to struggle, her only saving grace being a passion for music that helps soothe her damaged soul. As their paths diverge and college looms, Riley will have to depend less on Aidan and more on herself. Fear of failure drives her, but will finding love derail her single-minded determination to succeed, or will it open the door to the family she’s always wanted?

______________________________________________

Goodreads page // Netgalley Page // Author Page

I don’t know what my deal is with cellos and orchestras, but I absolutely love them to bits. I’ve watched movies and TV series based on them with so much enthusiasm that I wondered if maybe I should’ve continued my clarinet lessons when I could… Anyway, I believe this book is set to be published in November so I’ll be reading this in the very near future. Netgalley classes this as a Gay/Lesbian story so I am very curious to see what’ll happen in the book and I’m very happy to finally have gotten my hands on a book with a gay couple in it! (I requested several and got them denied within a matter of minutes, ugh)

 

Book 3: The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

11250317Greece in the age of Heroes. Patroclus, an awkward young prince, has been exiled to the kingdom of Phthia. Here he is nobody, just another unwanted boy living in the shadow of King Peleus and his golden son, Achilles.

Achilles, ‘best of all the Greeks’, is everything Patroclus is not — strong, beautiful, the child of a goddess — and by all rights their paths should never cross. Yet one day, Achilles takes the shamed prince under his wing and soon their tentative companionship gives way to a steadfast friendship. As they grow into young men skilled in the arts of war and medicine, their bond blossoms into something far deeper — despite the displeasure of Achilles’s mother Thetis, a cruel and deathly pale sea goddess with a hatred of mortals.

Fate is never far from the heels of Achilles. When word comes that Helen of Sparta has been kidnapped, the men of Greece are called upon to lay siege to Troy in her name. Seduced by the promise of a glorious destiny, Achilles joins their cause. Torn between love and fear for his friend, Patroclus follows Achilles into war, little knowing that the years that follow will test everything they have learned, everything they hold dear. And that, before he is ready, he will be forced to surrender his friend to the hands of Fate.

Profoundly moving and breathtakingly original, this rendering of the epic Trojan War is a dazzling feat of the imagination, a devastating love story, and an almighty battle between gods and kings, peace and glory, immortal fame and the human heart.

______________________________________________

Goodreads page // Author Page

I got this book in the mail by total surprise! My friend Amy bought this for me after she read and devoured this book, and I was really hoping to get my hands on this coming Christmas, but she beat me to it! I’m about a third into the book and ugh, this ship. THIS SHIP. The feels have hit me so hard, I’ve gotten a severe case of shoving-the-book-against-your-face-and-mumbling-incoherent-sentences disease. It is also a book with a gay couple in it and I just love it? So much? The writing is amazing and I have a feeling I’ll have this book read by tomorrow, if not Monday, so a review of it will be up very soon.

Those are the books I got new this week, I’m very happy to be able to add a physical copy to my shelves because it ha been a while since I’d gotten the pleasure of actually receiving a physical copy of a book in the mail. Nothing quite compares to it, not even Netgalley.

I am also reading The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross and I’m enjoying that a lot as well, so that’s where I’m at with my reading right now. I might not request any more nooks off Netgalley, as I am getting a lot declined and I still have a ton waiting for me.

What have you recently added to your shelves?

As always, have a lovely day!

Scripturiently

Leave a Reply

