Top Ten Tuesday – Tough to read edition (#10)

ttt

It is time for another Top Ten Tuesday in September, as always hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. If you need any more information about this week book meme, feel free to check out the link I just provided.

This week’s top ten is…

Top Ten Books That Were Hard For Me To Read

I’ve compiled a list of books that were tough for me to read, whether it was the size of the book, the writing or the topic. Like I’ve stated before, I do try to finish books despite any of these things, and if I did not, I state clearly that I’ve put them on hold. I do intend to read them again in the future.

Hard to read obviously doesn’t automatically mean it was a bad book! Read on to see my take on some of these.

7749505 12364417 16101128 10257528 1886

The Water Wars, The Vampire Lestat, The 5th Wave, To Kill a Mockingbird and Pride and Prejudice.

With the exemption of To Kill a Mockingbird, I finished all these books and only rated one of these with a bad rating. So why are they in this list? Basically, if a book is hard to read, that’s either a bad or a good thing. It can be hard to read because I can’t deal with the injustice in the book, and that I just want things to go well. It can also be that the writing is horrible and that I just don’t want to read on.

I really did not enjoy The Water Wars, so that was a difficult read for me. The Vampire Lestat was a hard read because it was very immersive, in my opinion. I couldn’t read this on the train, because my surroundings would distract me and I’d be completely out of the story in n time. It required all of my attention, but it made the read so much more interesting. The same goes for The 5th Wave. To Kill a Mockingbird I spoke about earlier, I just couldn’t get into it, so I will attempt to do so at a later stage.

8347132476610818853822993262151 

A Thousand Splendid Suns, The Secret Hour, Fifty Shades of Grey, A Game of Thrones and Socrates in Love.

A Thousand Splendid Suns was an amazing read, but it was a hard read for me. I’d never before read anything that was set in a similar world, so I really had to wrap my head around the way of living (and I didn’t agree with 90% of it, so I spent a good portion of my reading time yelling at my book!). The Secret Hour was a book I did not enjoy, so it was a hard read in the sense that I just wanted it to end (terrible feeling to have while you’re reading). Fifty Shades of Grey, as a book, is not that bad in my opinion. It had every opportunity for me to be a good love story but it just fell short for me. I didn’t dislike this book because of the sex scenes that so many people seem to have a problem with (I also have a few issues) but that’s not why I disliked this book. I just didn’t like the main character, and a soon as that happens, the book automatically becomes a hard read in my opinion.

I’m a historical fiction lover, so I do enjoy a good, chunky historical fiction book, but the sheer size of the Game of Thrones books intimidated me so much that I was terrified to start them. There was nothing wrong with the book itself in my opinion, it was just big and intimidating and wow — it took me a while. Socrates in Love is a book not many people have heard about — it’s originally a Japanese story that’s been translated into English I believe and I loved this book so incredibly much. Why is it on this list, you ask? Because it deals with a horrible disease tearing a couple apart and it was the longest, most horrible, most tear-inducing story I’ve ever read.

So those are the ten books I chose for this week’s list! Any similarities at all, or are you interested in any of these books? Let me know.

What was on your list this week?

As always, have a good day!

Scripturiently

Leave a Reply

