Book review: The Diamond Thief by Sharon Gosling

The Diamond ThiefThe Diamond Thief by Sharon Gosling

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Many thanks to the author Sharon Gosling and the publisher, Capstone Switch Press.

The story in The Diamond Thief by Sharon Gosling tells the story of Rémy Brunel, a French sixteen year old with skills unlike any other trapeze artist. She is also quick on her feet and a master thief, one who slips by undetected and is yet to be caught. When her boss, Gustave, orders her to steal a precious diamond that’s on display, Rémy uses the skills she’s developed over the years to retrieve the diamond and with the heist, sets off a whirlwind of chaos that involves a police officer by the name of Thaddeus, who is dead-set on returning the jewel but finds himself caught up in the chaos from the moment he’s involved.

As stated, I got this book off Netgalley a while ago while I was searching the lists for new books to read. I have a thing for steampunk it seems – ever since I saw the element in videogames and realized that it’s also been used in books, I’ve had a fondness for it. That, and the new cover for the book absolutely immediately captured my attention. I really enjoyed the read from the beginning – around 25 pages in I was already happily swiping to the next pages because I wanted to know what was going to happen, and if I’m invested in a book right from the get-go, that’s usually a pretty good sign.

Rémy was a really nice main character. I had no trouble connecting to her and I can assure you, I’m not a sixteen-year-old French trapeze artist working for a circus in London. Despite the fact that I’m a little older than she is, I did not have much trouble relating to her mindset and to the decisions she made in certain situations, which was nice. I have read books before where I simply couldn’t wrap my head around decisions being made, only to realize they corresponded with the character’s young age. Rémy was sassy and funny at times, which made me giggle every once in a while and made it an easy read.

Thaddeus too, was a character I really liked and I especially liked that he stuck to his beliefs and morals throughout the entire thing. The reasoning behind his actions often corresponded with how he was presented at the beginning of the story and I really appreciated the consistency. It was only towards the end that he became a little OOC for my taste, but I’ll talk more about that in a little bit. The professor and Desai came off a little flat for me, but that was probably because we got very little backstory about them compared to others. J, however small his role was, was awesome, I really liked him.

The reason I didn’t give this book a full 5 star rating is because of one thing and one thing only, something that was actually mentioned a few times towards the end of the book: the love aspect. Though it’s a relatively short book, the relationship between Rémy and Thaddeus seemed to build up properly – at least, that’s what it looked like. About 70 to 80% in I felt like it became extremely rushed and it kind of tumbled into the territory of insta-love, which was something I wasn’t hoping for.

The book mentioned several times that, “They’d only known each other for about a week” and that it made no sense that they had feelings for each other, but nonetheless, they did. It was all thrown on a plot point in the story that I won’t reveal, but it did make me feel like they kind of got shoved down my throat. It might just be a personal thing, but I would’ve loved for nothing to have happened between them and that the romance would’ve started in the sequel. I don’t know if the sequel picks up directly after it, but that was something that bothered me.

There were also a couple of ‘convenience moments’ I guess, as I like to call them: oh, we’re about to die, whatever will we do? Well, a character just so happens to carry some kind of magical elixir to save the day. This became a thing towards the end, I didn’t really pick up any of it around the beginning. Convenience moments to me are ‘eh’, not necessarily enough to jot down a rating for me – unless it happens in succession. There were a couple of moments where I thought, “Hm, well, that’s convenient.”

4 out of 5 stars for The Diamond Thief from me in the end — a star deduction because of the insta-romance element and some spontaneous convenient happenings that aided the main characters. Overall it was a fun story about a crafty thief with a very complicated past and this all made for a short but enjoyable story.

Scripturiently

Leave a Reply

