Stacking the Shelves – #6

stacking-the-shelves

It is once again Saturday, which means it’s time for another Stacking the Shelves, hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. In Stacking the Shelves, you show the books you’ve recently purchased, borrowed or otherwise got, be it physical or virtual which you, naturally, will be adding to your shelves! For more information about it all, visit this page.

I did manage to get a few books off Netgalley this time, which I’m very happy about. I have about five more pending titles which I hope to get approved as well, but considering my approval rate is dropping with every book I get granted, I’m skeptical. Let’s move on to the books I did get!

  

 Book 1: Sleepers by Megg Jensen

11815829An adoptee raised in a foreign land, sixteen-year-old Lianne was content with her life as handmaiden to the queen, until a spell cast on her at birth activated. Now she’s filled with uncontrollable rage and access to magic she thought had been bled from her people years ago. Even her years of secret training in elite hand-to-hand combat and meditation can’t calm the fires raging inside her.

Her heart is torn between two boys, the one she’s always loved and the one who always ignored her. But when the kingdom threatens to tear itself apart due to rumors surrounding the queen’s alleged affair, who will Lianne protect and who will she destroy?

______________________________________________

Goodreads page // Author page // Netgalley page

I’m really curious about this, the synopsis sounded interesting enough for me to pick it up, so I hope it’ll be a nice read.

Book 2: The Oracle by Michael Sedge

22742408A monster lurks in the house next to the ancient ruins of Cumae where, in 427 BC, a young girl was chosen by the gods to become the Sibyl–oracle of the Greco-Roman people that enhabited the area. Though she lived to fulfill her mission, it is written that the chain of oracles, passing from one young girl to another, will continue forever.

Now, American author David Jeffrey is killed along with his teenage daughter, Angelica, when a fire breaks out in their Naples, Italy, home. When David’s brother, Jake, decides to leave Michigan with his family to visit his brother’s widow, Jennifer, strange things begin to happen in the modeled, castle-like home near the ancient ruins of Cumae.

______________________________________________

Goodreads page // Netgalley Page //

The entire synopsis sounded very original, I thought it sounded really cool and I’ll never pass up something that has to do with ancient places, oracles and the like.

 

Book 3: Julie’s Butterfly by Greta Milán

22540142When beautiful Julietta meets aloof, handsome photographer Bastian, she immediately feels butterflies in her stomach.

But Bastian has a secret: Since birth, he has suffered from a very rare skin disorder that makes him exceptionally prone to injury. His life is riddled with pain and rejection; his thoughts are dominated by self-doubt and mistrust.

Julie wants to help him shake loose his inhibitions and open up to her, but can she reach deep enough to truly understand his suffering?

______________________________________________

Goodreads page // Netgalley Page // Author Page

This book synopsis made me request it almost immediately – that and the absolutely gorgeous cover. I normally have a hate thing towards books with big faces on them (with the exception of Memoirs of a Geisha), but for some reason this cover really drew me in and the story just sounds so beautiful. I really hope this will be one of those books I end up loving because I deals with prejudice and just something you don’t hear a lot about. I’m ragingly excited for this one, I have a feeling I’ll be reading it soon.

Those are the three books I got off Netgalley in the past few days and I really am happy with all of them. Especially Julie’s Butterfly is one I think I might be reading soon, because it’s just drawn me in completely and I want to see if it’s a book I’ll love. I’m currently only reading The Diamond Thief by Sharon Gosling and I must say, I am really enjoying it so far! I’m only 25 pages in and already I’m sitting here like, “Yes, yes, good, do it. Do it.”

What have you recently added to your shelves?

As always, have a lovely day!

Scripturiently

Leave a Reply

