Book review: The Predicteds by Christine Seifert

The PredictedsThe Predicteds by Christine Seifert

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The Predicteds by Christine Seifert tells the story of a world in which a program called PROFILE is able to tell you who is going to commit crimes and ultimately become criminals. Daphne, the main protagonist of the story, is present during a school shooting and although no one gets hurt, it is from then on decided that all students will have to undergo PROFILE to make sure that the ‘good’ kids are separated from the ‘bad’, in order to prevent the same disasters happening in the future. But is PROFILE the perfect way to prevent these things from happening, or does it just create a gigantic excuse to become prejudice against the people you once called friends?

I picked this book up at a book faire in January because of the cover and the synopsis. I really do like the idea of a world where people’s futures are predicted and are pretty much put on display for everyone to see. The Predicteds quite literally separated the good students from the bad, even forcing the bad ones to follow classes away from the others and refusing them entry or participation in things the good students were allowed. It painted this really grim idea of separating people based on what they might do and assuming that, over the course of time, they would not change.

The story was thus, to me, interesting enough to read this book. However, I felt no real attachment to the main character, Daphne. Throughout the entire story, she was so incredibly judgemental towards practically everyone that I wanted to slap her across the face and say, “Lady – you’re not that amazing yourself!” She was the typical girl who ‘hated boys who did this’ and ‘loathed girls who did that’ and, ‘Oh God, was I turning into –insert random girl’s name here-? Ew!’ There are so many characters who think that bashing on others makes them better – Daphne was one of them and it made my blood boil.
Her relationship with Jesse, the main male character, was alright to me. Nothing too incredibly special, though I did automatically stumble onto the “You’re not like other girls” scenario that seems to be ever-present in books, so that was a bummer. I made a status update about it because it bothered me while reading.

Seriously – your main character is allowed to be plain as hell and not stand out: it’s alright. Not every main character needs to hate men with a passion, hate dressing up, makeup and listen to 80s music because the mainstream channels aren’t good enough for her holy ears. It happens too often and it needs to stop. It’s not one way or the other – find a middle ground. Daphne was one of the characters who tilted to one side, and it bothered me.

Her friends from school were complete and total walking clichés – it felt like it was a little overdone (several times I waited for some girl to dramatically roll her eyes, twirl her hair around her finger and pop a big bubble of chewing gum only to have that actually happen). I figured out who the bad guy was pretty much halfway into the story, which was a bummer, but I suppose there was enough information to throw anyone on a wrong path.

I ended up rating The Predicteds 3 stars out of 5 because I did enjoy the read, I just didn’t particularly like the characters. I think the story could’ve been made stronger with a little bit more mystery and depth instead of random high school parties that I (personally) didn’t care about one bit, and the stereotypical high school types could’ve been swapped in for characters that would’ve added something. The core of the story is good, and made me think, but the lack of depth at times made the rating drop.

3 stars out of 5 for The Predicteds by Christine Seifert – a story in which the only real judgement should be towards your own possible prejudice.

Scripturiently

Leave a Reply

