Stacking the Shelves – #4

stacking-the-shelves

It is once again Saturday, which means it’s time for another Stacking the Shelves, hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. In Stacking the Shelves, you show the books you’ve recently purchased, borrowed or otherwise got, be it physical or virtual which you, naturally, will be adding to your shelves! For more information about it all, visit this page.

I have this love/hate relationship with Netgalley where I stay away from the website for, I don’t know, maybe two whole weeks, and then someone mentions it and I’m like, “Oh yeah, Netgalley!” Then I’ll go check, and suddenly I’ll have five to ten pending requests. Oops.

  

I ended up an insane amount of books, I’m not going to lie, but I got a lot of them denied. The books I got denied were mostly because I wasn’t a UK resident, which was weird because the books didn’t necessarily state that they only wanted UK reviewers. I also did request my first gay romance book and it quite literally got denied within ten minutes. TEN. I was stunned.

Anyway, on to the books I did get. It’s not an outrageous amount, but still!

 Book 1: Pear Shaped by Stella Newman

cover53176-mediumA novel about love, heartbreak and dessert.

Girl meets boy.
Girl loses boy.
Girl loses mind.

Sophie Klein walks into a bar one Friday night and her life changes. She meets James Stephens: charismatic, elusive, and with a hosiery model ex who casts a long, thin shadow over their burgeoning relationship. He’s clever, funny and shares her greatest pleasure in life – to eat and drink slightly too much and then have a little lie down. Sophie’s instinct tells her James is too good to be true – and he is.

An exploration of love, heartbreak, self-image, self-deception and lots of food. Pear-Shaped is in turns smart, laugh-out-loud funny and above all, recognizable to women everywhere

______________________________________________

Goodreads page // Author page // Netgalley page

I’ve really wanted a chick-lit book for a while now and I saw this book cover on Netgalley and I was sold, basically. The thing with chick-lit is that it’s a welcome change of pace if you’ve just spent fifty years in dystopian end-of-the-world books.

Book 2: Freya Being Freya by Thomas Ullman

20836856When he walked through the outskirts of town early one morning, the last thing he was expecting was to fall in love with a Goddess. Not just any Goddess mind you, it was Freya, the Norse Goddess of love, sexuality and beauty. With hair and eye colour that change with her mood, he was simply no match for Freya’s dangerous allure.

Freya Being Freya is a deliciously witty and sensual tale of love and awakening that transcends two very different worlds. It is a humorous, boldly refreshing and empowering story that is anything but your ordinary erotic romance and will most certainly keep you coming back for more.

______________________________________________

Goodreads page // Author page //

I recently browsed through giveaways on Goodreads and I saw this book, read the synopsis and thought, “Ha! I’d read that.” I was actually challenged by the author to read and review this book, since I state in my review policy that I — in general — do not enjoy reading erotica. I love a good challenge, especially when it’s book related, so when a digital copy of this book was provided to me, I accepted! (Thank you again!) I’ve actually decided to push it up onto my currently reading list, so hopefully you’ll see a review of this up soon.

That’s it for me this stacking the shelves! I only got two books and quite frankly that is probably the way most of my stacking the shelves are going to be, since I rarely have the finances to fund my book loving craze. I’m still waiting for three or four books to be approved or denied via Netgalley so I might get a few from there still. I’m currently also reading The Iron King by Julie Kagawa and although it’s amusing so far, it’s been a bit of trouble for me to keep my attention on it. That being said, I really haven’t had a good amount of time to read, so I might try to change that this weekend.

What have you recently added to your shelves?

As always, have a lovely day!

Scripturiently

2 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves – #4

Leave a Reply

