Book review: A Gift of Ghosts by Sarah Wynde

A Gift of Ghosts (Tassamara #1)A Gift of Ghosts by Sarah Wynde

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Many thanks to the author Sarah Wynde and the publisher, Razor Productions.

A Gift of Ghosts is a story about a young woman named Akira Malone, a physicist who gets offered a job that she knows very little about. Though the company is vague in their description of what she’ll be doing for them, Akira is more than happy to focus on science – not ghosts. Akira has been able to see, hear and otherwise communicate with ghosts around her. Though she usually ignores them, she is confronted with a teenage ghost named Dillon when she moves to Tassamara, who happens to be the nephew of Zane Latimer, the man who hired her. The town of Tassamara is filled with people who have their own share of ‘strange quirks’ and Zane hopes that perhaps Akira can help his relatives get in touch with their loved ones.

Ghost stories! I love them! I don’t really know what it is that makes me want to devour stories about the afterlife, but I just have a soft spot for them. So many authors write different takes on the afterlife and how ghosts or spirits move on. Sarah Wynde presents the reader with a main character who introduces us to the typical idea of spirits, and then adds a little twist. In this setting, ghosts can, for example, influence the temperature in the room if they’re upset or angry. And if a person died and cannot control their anger or guilt, they become red outlined ghosts – dangerous ones who can bring harm to others.

A Gift of Ghosts was a short read, which I was happy about. The story brings in a lot of science and I’m personally not that interested in it, but the author managed to keep me reading all the same. Akira constantly struggles with the fine line between her believing in science only, but quite literally living under the same roof with three different ghosts. Her mind says no, but her experience says yes. Her relationships with the ghosts around her, the ones she was so desperate to tune out, I found was really nice to read about. Her relationship with Zane was lovely (note: kudos to the author for writing one of the steamiest and nicely written sex scenes that I’ve come across!) and I did not get bored once.

Now for the things I didn’t like – there were a few things that made me frown or made me go, “…Why?” It started with Akira accepting the job she knew nothing about – it was very strange and although I could understand that the company offered her an amazing opportunity, it still came off as a little unbelievable. Second, I felt that Akira kept wondering if she came off as ‘weird’ to the new townsfolk a few times too many. For as far as I could tell, no one ever approached her or laughed at what she was doing – the story itself kept mentioning that they were used to ‘strange people’, so I didn’t understand her constant anxiety.

Although I did really enjoy the relationship between Zane and Akira, I did feel like Akira skipped from ‘quiet, observing and probably developing a crush’ to ‘sexy, seductive I-want-you-now’. Like I said, it was a great sex scene, but it felt a little out of character (just a bit!). Aside from that, I would’ve loved more depth and information for the rest of the Latimer family – but perhaps that happens in the other books!

The writing style throughout the book was more than fine for me – although I didn’t always understand all science-related terms, there was enough explanation for them. No complicated word usage throughout the rest of the book, the dialogue was funny and even emotional during the scene with the father and his son so no complaints there.

The final rating I gave A Gift of Ghosts by Sarah Wynde is 4.25 out of 5. It’s the first time I’ve given a book this rating (never thought it was a rating actually!). Deductions for some strange happenings or out of character situations, but overall a great ghost-y story suitable for anyone with a thirst for stories about the afterlife combined with a fluffy romance.

Scripturiently

Leave a Reply

