Stacking the Shelves – #3

stacking-the-shelves

It is once again Saturday, which means it’s time for another Stacking the Shelves, hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. In Stacking the Shelves, you show the books you’ve recently purchased, borrowed or otherwise got, be it physical or virtual which you, naturally, will be adding to your shelves! For more information about it all, visit this page.

I kind of went on Netgalley and saw a bunch of books and then I just … clicked request and stuff happened. It’s not my fault. Really.

  

I ended up requesting five or six books, one of which got rejected (The Last Changeling by Chelsea Pitcher) and three of which I got granted access to so far. I’m still waiting for a response for two of them, they’re still pending so I’ll just have to wait and see!

 Book 1: A Gift of Ghosts by Sarah Wynde

13227064Akira Malone believes in the scientific method, evolution, and Einstein’s theory of relativity. And ghosts.

All the logic and reason in the world can’t protect her from the truth-she can see and communicate with spirits. But Akira is sure that her ability is just a genetic quirk and the ghosts she encounters simply leftover electromagnetic energy. Dangerous electromagnetic energy.

Zane Latimer believes in telepathy, precognition, auras, and that playing Halo with your employees is an excellent management technique. He also thinks that maybe, just maybe, Akira can help his family get in touch with their lost loved ones.

But will Akira ever be able to face her fears and accept her gift? Or will Zane’s relatives be trapped between life and death forever?

______________________________________________

Goodreads page // Author page // Netgalley page

From what I can see on Goodreads, people are really positive about this book and it looks like a short, pretty read that I can’t wait to get into. I don’t know why, but I’ve really wanted to read some ghost-related books lately, so when I saw this I had to take it.

Book 2: Curse Breaker: Guild Assassin by Berley Kerr

perf6.000x9.000.inddWendy Magdalena Braca lived in a Victorian mansion under three moons in Jupiter City. But her privileged upbringing falters when after the death of her father and the murder of her mother, she is shipped away to Greenleaf Asylum for Troubled Girls and lived there for years until she is “rescued” by a strange guild that shows Wendy their world; the world of Guild Assassins made up of the Cæcus (normal humans), the Validus (magic-users), and Half-Breeds (demi-gods). In this world, Wendy discovers she is the most special and powerful Validus known to exist, the Curse Breaker.

______________________________________________

Goodreads page // Author page //
Curse Breaker: Guild Assassin was recently archived.

I have got to admit, the cover drew me in and I think it’s because it looks a little steampunk-y to me and I think I have a soft spot for steampunk-y goodness, so I’m hoping I’ll enjoy this.

The third book I am most happy about that I managed to get that approved (my approval rate is going down, down, down. Started from the bottom, now we’re … back at the bottom?) —

Book 3: The Ruby Airship by Sharon Gosling

53e92bad7e69eIn this sequel to The Diamond Thief, trapeze-artist Rémy has left the circus and her life as a thief, but she doubts that detective Thaddeus Rec will ever truly trust her. Feeling torn between her new life and her old, Rémy decides to return to France and her old circus with Yannick, an old friend who unexpectedly appears.

Meanwhile, Thaddeus is sure that Yannick is up to no good. He’s determined to find them and win Rémy back, even if he must risk a journey by airship to do so.

______________________________________________

Goodreads page // Author page // Netgalley page

This is the second book in The Diamond Thief series which I also got off Netgalley so yay– now I can read both books consecutively and review them! I’m excited!

I’ve ordered myself to stay off Netgalley for now because I’ll just end up requesting books and getting them denied all over because my approval rate will be something like -60%. I did, however, enter some giveaways on Goodreads and I’ve yet to win any, so maybe one of these books will be mine soon and I’ll be able to show them in another stacking the shelves!

Currently still reading Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (I’m about 140 pages into Chaol– I mean, into the book…), I might add A Gift of Ghosts to my current reads because it’s a short read and I’m really curious, but as always you’ll be able to follow my progress via Goodreads should I do that.

That’s it for me this stacking the shelves! I tried a new … setup, if you will — I don’t know if you prefer this over anything else, I was just kind of testing some things out etc. If you like this, please let me know, if you don’t — please let me know. Either way, I’d love to hear from you!

What have you recently added to your shelves?

As always, have a lovely day!

Scripturiently

3 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves – #3

Leave a Reply

