Twenty questions for a reader

Hello friends and family and … enemies? I came across this little twenty-question survey (okay maybe not so little) on Bookables’ blog and I thought, “Hey, why not do this?” I don’t think this is a tag or anything, but in Bookables’ videos, Heather always says that if you want to participate in a tag but you haven’t actually been tagged — just do it. I kind of felt the same about this: I thought it was interesting and I was more than willing to answer these questions, so here we are. This looks to be a thing that started on Facebook (I did some digging, just a little), so there you go.

If, by some divine mistake I have no right to copy and/or do this, then I will simply delete the post and we’ll pretend it never happened. If not, you’ll probably be staring at this post and you might want to do it yourself. Yay!

(PS. Bookables is totally one of my favorite booktubers so don’t be at all surprised that I was nosing around on her blog. At all.)

1. Which book has been on your shelf the longest?

72193

That would have to be Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. I even have it in Dutch, which means I was at an age where I was not fully capable of understanding a full book in English. Aw.

2. What is your current read, your last read and the book you’ll read next?

This is why we have WWW Wednesday every week! Read the answer to this question right here (but you probably already have, you cool kid you ;)).

3. What book did everyone like and you hated?

22440495

Ehhh, I wouldn’t say “everyone” in my case, because not many people have read it, but Love by Design by Evie Knight — I just couldn’t bring myself to like it and everybody else put it on a pedestal.

4. Which book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?

11870085 4327066

It’s a tie between Perks of Being a Wallflower and The Fault in Our Stars. I’m sorry guys, but those two are quite literally at the bottom of my list.

5. Which book are you saving for retirement?

None! Ha. I haven’t really ever saved a book for anything. I would probably bring some of my favorites with me to make sure I have those.

6. Last page: read it first or wait till the end?

I actually changed over the years: I used to read the ending to every book the moment I got my hands on it, because I was always afraid I wouldn’t have enough time to finish it. Now I wait till the end.

7. Acknowledgements: waste of ink and paper or interesting aside?

I love acknowledgements. I don’t know why, but it’s almost a little private message to loved ones or to other people who have helped make that story come to life.

8. Which book character would you switch places with?

Hermione Granger or maybe Adelice from Crewel World.

9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life (a person, a place, a time)?

Yes — every Harry Potter book reminds me of my childhood, and especially Order of the Phoenix because I remember reading that in class in English and my teachers thought I was joking. They wouldn’t believe I was reading a big book like that, and in English.

10. Name a book you acquired in some interesting way.

I wouldn’t necessarily point out one book in particular, but I’ve been lucky enough to receive most of my books from friends.

11. Have you ever given away a book for a special reason to a special person?

Yes. I gave my copy of Twilight to the guy I liked because he wanted to see what the hype was about and then never returned it to me.

12. Which book has been with you to the most places?

1656001

The Host, by Stephenie Meyer. I’ve dragged that book everywhere — to my internship, to school, on the train.

13. Any “required reading” that you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad ten years later?

157993

I hated The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry because I had to read it for French class, but they forced it on us and I hate it when books are forced onto me. I did finish it, but I did not enjoy it much and although I managed to notice that there are several life lessons in there, I didn’t feel compelled to pay attention because I was annoyed. Haven’t been able to re-read it yet, but I hope to in the future.

14. What is the strangest item you’ve ever found in a book?

A library card stamp kind of thing with someone’s name on it and how much they paid for the book. It was really weird because it was obvious it was a library stamp, but it still said he paid like 3 euros for it and who pays for library books? Very strange.

15. Used or brand new?

Whatever fits my finances. I have nothing against used books.

16. Stephen King: Literary genius or opiate of the masses?

First off: I have no idea what an opiate is, so I’ll go Google that and be right back.
Right, I am no wiser. Opiates are narcotics, I knew that, I thought it would have a different meaning. Ehh I guess I would class him as neither. He’s an author. A good one, from what I’ve heard.

17. Have you ever seen a movie that you liked better than the book?

818478 mpastardustb

Yes, surprisingly. I enjoyed Stardust the movie more than I enjoyed the book (by Neil Gaiman). The book was awesome, I enjoyed it a lot but the ending to the movie was better and I liked some of the additions to the movie.

18. Conversely, which book should never have been introduced to celluloid?

Hmmm let me think. Delirium, maybe. It was turned into a TV show/mini series kind of thing, but I cringed at the sight of it. I don’t know if its good, I still have to watch it and judge it properly but I think I would’ve preferred it if it had just stayed a book series.

19. Have you ever had books that made you hungry, cookbooks excluded from this question?

13599028

Yes. Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce made me hungry because Rosie was always cooking.

20. Who is the person who’s book advice you’ll always take?

There are several, some are booktubers, some are friends. From the booktuber/bookblogger world I usually listen to Kat (katytastic), Catriona (little book owl) and Heather (bookables).

In my personal life it’s Andrea (thebookheap), Ruby and Cat, my best friend.

It was a long questionnaire, I’ll admit to that, but I liked the questions and if you have gotten to the end right here, have a cookie to celebrate it.

That’s all for this post, I hope you have a lovely day.

 

Scripturiently

 

 

5 thoughts on “Twenty questions for a reader

  1. I didn’t read Delirium soooooo I can’t comment on how well-adapted it was to the book. But from an outsider perspective, not even the questionable acting could save the writing and the production value of the show. From what I heard, they basically crammed the entirety of the first novel into the PILOT episode. Yeah, thanks for that….I guess that means I read the first book (sort-of)!

    • That’s precisely what I’ve heard too, the entire first novel into a PILOT. That is… that is beyond ridiculous that I can’t even fathom how weird that must’ve been for those who have watched it. Delirium is… I mean, I enjoyed it, but there is quite honestly no way to shove an entire first book of a series into a pilot, no matter what book it is. I might watch it for the fun of it but, ehh… don’t know if there will be much fun to find in something like that.

    • I honestly don’t know what it is! I just can’t seem to be bothered to pick either of them up and I also don’t feel like I’m missing anything particularly spectacular. Oops?

Leave a Reply

