Top Ten Tuesday: Hesitant edition (#4)

ttt

It’s once again Tuesday (how fast do the weeks go by?!) and that means it’s time for another edition of Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s top ten is:

Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

11870085

The first book that came to mind when I saw this top ten was The Fault in our Stars. This book has been so incredibly hyped that I can’t turn anywhere without seeing it referenced. Probably for good reason, but it’s put me off of reading the book. This is a process that has taken quite a while, and it started with me reading An Abundance of Katherine, also by John Green, and disliking the book 1/3 in. I’ve yet to find ‘my’ John Green book — it might be this one, but for right now I’m not sure I want to read it.

10507293

The Selection by Kiera Cass

I’ve heard great things about this book, and I’ve heard ‘meh’ things about this book (and the rest of the series). I believe this is the book who has the annoying main character in it? I think I’ve heard something like that, and although I’m interested in the story, having an annoying main character for several books could be a dealbreaker for me. I’m on the fence about it.

9462812

Die for Me by Amy Plum

I absolutely love this book’s cover, and a book about zombies? Score! However, after reading some reviews and what not, I lost my enthusiasm a little. This is one of the books that I probably will end up reading more than not, but I’m still contemplating.

18710190

Allegiant by Veronica Roth

I’ll be frank: I love the Divergent series, and I love Four, and every time I tell someone that, they laugh bitterly and go, “Don’t read Allegiant.” If that’s not a giant spoiler and a reason not to read something, it’s that. I have a vague idea that I know exactly what’s going to happen, and I’m not ready.

39999

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne

Simple: war books. I don’t deal well with them at all. I have the book on my shelf, and again, this is one of the ones I probably will end up reading, but I’ll probably read 572958574 books before it.

12578077

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Booktubers seem to love these series, and I’m just sitting here like, “Maybe?” When I pose myself with the idea that if I could have any twenty books, this wouldn’t be in it, despite the hype. I don’t know what it is, but I feel like I’d just be bothered the majority of the time I would read? It’s probably silly, but yeah.

11594257

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

Another one of those books I’ve seen hyped, and I’m not fully convinced. I’m intrigued would be the right word, but not ragingly excited to want to grab it and run circles with it through a grassy field — you feel?

4327066

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Another hyped up book, and surprisingly, this one is leaning more towards the side of ‘will probably never read it’. I don’t feel particularly drawn to it, nor do I feel the usual gnawing feeling when I don’t read something. It’s not high up on my list — that might change in the future, but for now, no.

24770

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

Same with the one above here — I don’t particularly feel like I’d be ‘into it’, but unlike with Perks up here, I do have a certain curiosity towards this series. Maybe. Maybe.

11857408

Fifty Shades Darker by E.L. James

I actually read about 60% of this book before I put it away and never looked at it again. However, I feel like I need to finish the book at least, because I do remember somewhat enjoying a part of the storyline (you know, the tiny part that didn’t revolve around sex…). I don’t know of I’ll let myself drown again in this crazy world though. Don’t know if the small storyline is enough reason for me to try again.

I probably have a few books on here that a lot of people love and/or rated this fairly high, and I’d like to say that this is a ‘not sure’ list, aka it could change a any point in time with, well, maybe a good review or something. For now though, this is what the list looks like.

Have you made the list and if so, are there any similarities with mine? Feel free to leave a comment and convince me to read any of these books, by the way!

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Hesitant edition (#4)

  1. I really enjoyed the first two Never Sky books actually- so I recommend those, and you know what I’m like with overhyped books.

    I’m the same with the Onyx series by Armentrout I mean….ugh they look so cheesy and cliche but everyone on booktube is obsessed! Same with Katie McGarry (I think I spelt that right)

  2. Brilliant picks! I was a doubter of the hype surrounding the Under the Never Sky series, was so sure it wouldn’t live up to it. I ended up really enjoying it, I borrowed the books from work but once I was done I bought my own copies because I loved it so much – so I definitely encourage you to try those.
    TFIOS didn’t live up to the hype for me. I enjoyed it but I didn’t love it, I wasn’t as blown away as everyone else seemed to be and I didn’t even cry!
    ALLEGIANT!! I HATE THAT BOOK! I loved the series and Four but Allegiant will RUIN it for you. She does Four’s POV but then turns him into a girly, whiny, male version of Tris. You can’t even tell the difference between their POVs. Plus it’s boring and copies many storylines from the first two books. STEER CLEAR! You have been warned 😉
    Great picks 🙂 Here’s my TTT.

    • First of all, thanks again for taking the time to leave a comment! Under the Never Sky is most likely one of the books I will pick up eventually, so it’s a good thing you recommend those! As for Allegiant, I dread it like crazy and I KNOW I’ll probably still read it in order to finish the series, but the question is will I enjoy it. Judging by all the one and two star ratings I saw, plus your comment just now — ehhhh. Haha we’ll see where this goes. Thanks again and I’ll check yours out, too!

  3. I feel like I’m at fault for having little interest in reading…fault; which is probably true cause it’s not a genre of book I normally gravitate towards. But I’ve been told to read Looking for Alaska as my initial foray into Green.
    If you’re already invested in the Divergent trilogy, I’d say you should form your own judgment at the end of it all. Personally, I found the middle section to be a pretty clunky read (if that even makes any sense? which it probably doesn’t) but was fine with the ending itself. Can’t please everyone!
    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    • I might give Greens books another shot in the future, maybe once the hype is died down (seeing as that is, honestly, one of the reasons why he bothers me).

      I will probably finish Divergent myself, like you said haha. I’m a little too invested in the story to completely drop the final book, it feels weird.

      Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

