Monopoly through time: Zelda Monopoly!

I came across some awesome news while surfing the fantastically big world wide web (and when I say this I mean Tumblr, mostly) — GameStop is releasing a Legend of Zelda version of the family-oriented board game Monopoly! Yep, this is not a hoax (for as far as I could tell anyway) and let’s be real: especially for Zelda fans, this is a reason to get excited.

SC20140810-134048

I got excited.

I’m not sure how long this has been known already, but I only found out today and this is, quite frankly, the first time I’ve heard of it so — either the internets isn’t doing its job properly, or it’s only been announced recently.

You can view the official GameStop page for the merchandise right here. The description reads as follows:

“The Legend of Zelda MONOPOLY takes players on a trip through time as they travel through the land of Hyrule and beyond. Memorable locations include Link’s House, Temple of Time and the Lon Lon Ranch and are all up for grabs in this special collector’s edition of one of the most revered video games of all time. In addition to collectible tokens, custom designed game board, Zelda themed money and custom Chance, Community Chest and deed cards, the GameStop Exclusive edition includes the Ocarina of Time token, Hyrule Map Lithograph and 6 Item Cards for added game play.”

I can’t possibly contain my excitement for this: as someone who started playing Zelda games at age six, the series means pretty much everything to me. I used to play a ton of Monopoly with my family when I was younger – in fact, if our family came together, two things were most likely to happen: we would play Zelda, or we would play Monopoly. These two things combined is just one giant ball of awesome and quite frankly, I’m halfway tempted to yank all my Christmas lists back and just go, “Someone buy me this! I don’t want anything else! Thank you!”

 board2
I threw all my savings at my tablet basically.
(If you are unfamiliar with euros, that about covers 50 cents)

In short: the game comes with Zelda-styled tokens, money being rupees and of course: every spot on the board is now a Zelda related location. It’s going to be awesome playing this and fighting over locations with my family members (it’s going to be mine. All mine)– I’m seriously looking forward to this. The only thing I can see so far that’s a let down is that the jail isn’t the Gerudo Prison! Come on! That was the first thing I thought about when I read the words ‘Zelda Monopoly’ and they didn’t include it. Despite that little issue, it looks pretty cool and would be a nice addition to the other Zelda related items I have.

You can now preorder the game at GameStop, so once again I’ll link the website right here — you can also view all images there and read up on the merchandise. All I know is that I told my mother about this, and she went “Ha! Another edition to the collection, one way or another”, and that, friends, is proof my family members are still Zelda obsessed after sixteen years.

Are you a Zelda fan and if so, are you planning on getting this? What other merchandise do you own? (Hell, if you’re not a Zelda fan, what are your thoughts on this?)

Leave a Reply

