Top Ten Tuesday – Recommendation edition (#3)

ttt

It’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s top ten is:

Top Ten Books I’d Give To Readers Who Have Never Read …

If participating, you are welcome to fill in the blank at the en as you like (e.g.: historical fiction, YA, war related books etc). For this top ten, I have decided to go for:

Top Ten Books I’d Give To Readers Who Have Never Read Vampire-related books

It’s happening way too often now that people will not read books related to vampires, because they feel today’s fiction has ruined the image of what ‘a vampire is supposed to be’. We could probably fill fifty pages on discussion in regards to how vampires were handled in the Twilight saga (whether you were happy with it or not) as that seems to be the number one reason why people refuse to read anything similar, but I’m more willing to inform people that, hello – there are other vampire related books out there.

  924680 12364417159339

The Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice

First off, I will definitely recommend a few Anne Rice books. If you are looking to read vampire related fiction, then Anne Rice’s novels are books you cannot and should not pass up on. I have read two and a half of the total amount of books she has written, and so I will recommend Interview With the Vampire, The Vampire Lestat and The Queen of the Damned. These are the first three books in The Vampire Chronicles and are absolutely brilliant. Anne Rice is a fantastic author and writes more about the traditional idea of vampires, I suppose – it’s all about their inner turmoil, the way they live through the ages, ancient vampires and so forth. I’m aiming to read all of the books in the Vampire Chronicles series, because they’re just that good. There are a total of eleven books in the Vampire Chronicles series, I have just displayed three here.

34562722821332802316599615364792596527740

The Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead

This might be an obvious choice, but I am going to go ahead and recommend the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead to pretty much everyone. The main story has six books in total and make up for a lovely read if I do say so myself, one who is undoubtedly going to hit you with the feels. Vampires are presented in different ways, and the idea of having an entire school dedicated to pretty much royal vampires and the protection of these royal vampires by guardians — fresh air in the vampire genre if you ask me. The six books in the main series are: Vampire Academy, Frostbite, Shadow Kiss, Blood Promise, Spirit Bound and Last Sacrifice.

17245Last but not least I will recommend Bram Stoker’s Dracula because, well, it’s Dracula. I don’t think you could recommend anything in the vampire genre without mentioning this, so here you go.

Only three authors, I’m aware, but I’m equally as picky nowadays when it comes to vampire fiction and these are the ones I am familiar with and am happy with how it’s been written. These are books I thoroughly enjoyed (with he exception of Dracula, still have to get my hands on that, but I’ve heard great things about) and they not once made me cringe because it was vampire related.

If you’re interested in a more vampire-y YA feel, then go for Richelle Mead’s series, if you’re more looking for something more general and adult, then Anne Rice is the way to go, and if you’re just greedy for vampire stories like I am, look into all three of them!

PS. I was going to do historical fiction and then I realized I only own about five historical fiction books. Someone toss all their money at me so I can change this, cough.

P.P.S. I am still completely exhausted from my spontaneous trip to the UK so forgive any mistakes in this, thank you.

 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Recommendation edition (#3)

  1. Thank you for having Anne Rice on here, I feel like people forget it far too easily. 🙂
    You should check out the Full Moon series by Steve Lake. It’s serialized over a few anthology books, and is quite good. 🙂
    Here’s my list. I’ve started doing them on YouTube as an experiment. Like and comment if you get a chance. 🙂

    • Anne Rice is a queen if you’d ask me, so there was no way I couldn’t include her in this list! I’ll check out your recommendation and will take a look at your list! Thanks for taking the time to the comment, means a lot! 🙂

Leave a Reply

