Mini tiny book haul! (#1)

I just came back from a spontaneous visit to my aunt and uncle who live in the United Kingdom — and I have to tell you guys: books are, in comparison to here in the Netherlands, quite a bit cheaper and more accessible than what we have here. Overall, I would be able to get my hands on all the books I want, through sites such as the book depository or bookoutlet, but for example with the latter, I’d have to deal with shipping costs. I tend to buy off a shop called bol.com over here, which I suppose you could compare to a Dutch version of Amazon, since we do not have access to Amazon (thanks, by the way! Grrr!) However, prices are always a bit higher and under 20 euros you still pay shipping fees, so I decided that while I was in the UK, I’d try and buy some books there.

Bear in mind that I did not have access to my own money while I was there seeing as I was, quite literally, dragged there on a 12 hour notice, so I was only able to buy four books, generously donated by my aunt’s wallet content.

SAMSUNG SAMSUNG

These are the four books I was able to snatch up and I can inform you that I’ve never lovingly glanced at books this badly before. On the left we have Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas, which I’ve heard everybody on booktube, WordPress, Twitter and Goodreads freak about, so I’m scarily excited about reading those two!

On the right we have The Iron King and The Iron Daughter, the first two books in The Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa and if you are not impressed by those covers then we can’t talk. There’s glitter on them. Glitter. I was desperately looking to get all of these books and I’d actually put them on my Christmas wish list as I had no other way to get them otherwise, but voilà — Waterstones made me happy.

I’m not sure if you can read the sticker on the Sarah J. Maas books, but there was a ‘buy one, get one half price’ sale going on at Waterstones, so I got the second book in the series for half price. I don’t know when I’ll be starting any of these, since I am currently reading Pride and Prejudice (more like not reading, don’t have a lot of energy, ugh) and The Winter People, but it probably won’t be long before I start any of these. I’m too curious!

Did you buy any books lately?

 

Leave a Reply

