Confusion about New Adult

I recently started reading Love by Design by Evie Knight, which is filed under the New Adult genre and is a genre I haven’t read much of, so I decided to give it a go. From the beginning I didn’t feel much of a connection to the characters or what is happening, and I’m about halfway done now only to find that the book pretty much lives on sex scenes?

Now I’ve got nothing against sex scenes, in fact, if they’ve been written well they can add to the storg in my opinion, but I can’t say I feel that way so far. I feel like the sex in this book is just completely unnecessary. However, I’m wondering if I should’ve seen this coming based on the fact that it’s shelved as New Adult? Is this the new way of marking adult stories/erotica and did I miss some memo?

I can’t say I’ll avoid the genre conpletely if that’s the case, but I’ll at least know before I start reading that that is something I can expect. Now I went from cupcake eating to … well, I’ll leave that to your imagination!

(Can’t say I’m enjoying the read so far, but I will let you know what I think eventually!)

Leave a Reply

