Book Review: John Dreamer by Elise Celine

John DreamerJohn Dreamer by Elise Celine

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Many thanks to the author Elise Celine and the publisher, Authorbuzz.

John Dreamer tells the story of a young woman named Andy who wakes up in a white room that seems endless, empty aside from seven differently designed chairs with names on them. One of them has her name on it – the others names of people she does not recognize. One by one, six different people appear in the white room, equally as confused as Andy and are confronted with the fact that they are not able to leave unless they each individually achieve their dream. One problem: no one knows what their dream is, why they’ve been chosen, and what’s in store for them.

I was super excited to read this book – the cover is absolutely lovely and drew me in immediately, and the title, though simple, made me want to start reading. Who is John Dreamer? Why is he important enough to be the title of this book? All questions that were answered within the pages of the book, but none of it was enough to wow me as it has done for many others.

I liked the main character Andy, she was a lovely protagonist to read about, although I did feel that her reactions were sometimes a bit over the top. I remember distinctively reading something along the lines of, “What did I do wrong? Everything.”, and thinking, ‘Wow, that’s a little overboard for my taste!’ That aside, I think she was a fine protagonist who you quickly wanted to learn more about.

The side characters were also interesting, though in various degrees. Let’s just start with the bad news: I did not like Roy, I never ended up liking him — he was a nuisance to me, like an annoying buzzing sound that just wouldn’t go away. Out of all characters, I was least interested in what he had to say or what his story was. I loved Linda a lot, she was probably my favourite out of the bunch because she was a little out there. The rest of the side characters were all fine, I wasn’t bothered reading about them.

The relationship between John and Andy was interesting to read about, but not enough to make me squee over them (which is what I was hoping). I liked their backstory, but it was also something I saw coming to some degree, which was a shame. John in itself was a good character and was fun to read about.

There was nothing wrong with the writing style, nothing too complicated or bothersome but I did feel that some situations were written with the intention to be funny and it came off as rather… childish to me. Whereas I laughed at the Guardian conjuring certain items at the beginning, it became something easily glossed over further into the book.

I think this book is pretty interesting and I did enjoy the read, but I think in general it was not my cup of tea. This mostly because Roy was present a lot and he bothered me a lot and anything that’s a lot starts to bug me, unfortunately. A great idea, presented quite well as a good package deal, but perhaps not for me. I would, however, recommend this to others, as it seems that opinions differ quite a lot on this book.

It wasn’t my amazing cup of tea, more a decent cup of tea, but it might be awesome for other readers!

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Book Review: John Dreamer by Elise Celine

Leave a Reply

