Top Ten Tuesday – Tropical edition (#1)

ttt

This will be my first time joining in on Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s top ten is:

Top ten characters I’d want on a deserted island with me!

This was actually very, very difficult as I realized I haven’t actually read that many books to choose from. I tried my hardest not to choose characters from the same book series, but one from each perhaps, but you’ll see that I did not succeed fully. Still, I think this little group of people would make my stay on the island a lot more bearable and inhabitable, and perhaps even bring a bit of entertainment. Let’s move on to the list!

Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games series (knowledge + hunting)
Perhaps a really obvious choice, but come on — Katniss is smart, can hunt, is fast and knows her way around edible plants and berries. She’d basically keep us alive, so without Katniss we’d be lacking a lot of food and knowledge.

Cinder from The Lunar Chronicles (building + stamina)
Cinder is the second person I’d bring with me on this island, if not for her witty personality then for the fact that she can build a lot of things, has knowledge on how to build them and is very acquainted with long hard days of work. That means stamina!

Dimitri Belikov from the Vampire Academy series (fighting + intellect)
Besides being lovely to look at, Dimitris is good at fighting and has a ton of stamina. He keeps going when pretty much everyone is passed out. On top of that, he can train others to fight, as he is an instructor. Of course, he wouldn’t be able to do that alone, so…

Four from the Divergent trilogy (hunting + fighting)
Four can help him! I think the two of them would get along just fine, having the same kind of way of working and I think they’d both be very determined on their own, let alone together. Four would be good to help Katniss hunt as well, as he is good with daggers.

Melanie Stryder from The Host (navigation + survival)
I would definitely bring the lovely Melanie Stryder along with me on this deserted island disaster, if only for the fact that her last name means ‘warrior/fighter’ in my own language! On top of that Melanie has a good sense of direction and she knows how to survive, having a killer survival instinct. Besides that I think she’d become a good buddy.

Enora from the Crewel World series (making clothes + fixing clothes)
I wasn’t sure about this one, seeing as Enora just styles people, but I’m sure she knows quite a lot more about producing and fixing clothes than most of the others, so I’ll bring her. She also would give people motivational speeches, most likely.

Silas Reynolds from the Fairytale Retellings/Sisters Red (building + hunting + comic relief)
This lovely gent was brought up in a family that encouraged house building, which could come in handy. Silas could build shelters and other contraptions that would make our stay on the island a bit more bearable. Besides that he’d help hunt and be a general source of laughter, seeing as he is a bit of a jokester.

Carlisle Cullen from the Twilight series (medic + intellect)
We need a good medic on the island, and let’s be quite honest — Carlisle would be a good one. He has years (literally) of experience and can pretty much treat anything. On top of that, he’ll probably be able to create natural medicine with the herbs and flowers on the island, which he would know about. He is smart and he is calm and collected, which I think we need in a stressful situation.

Finnick Odair from The Hunger Games series (hunting + water expertise)
Couldn’t help but also include Finnick in this list, because he would be able to catch fish, reach areas that are normally off-limits because he can swim and he could build little rafts and nets to help bring in food. Plus it’s Finnick.

And last but not least:

Rosie March from the Fairytale Retellings/Sisters Red (hunting + preparing food)
Rosie is kind of happy card as I need a buddy on the island. Rosie would be my pick and on top of that she can help hunt and prepare food. She’s also a little derp, which would help relieve tension.

Phew, finally got through that. Like I said, I found it pretty difficult, but I managed. What a way to start my participation!

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Tropical edition (#1)

  1. Brilliant picks! Katniss made 99% of lists, mine included, for good reason. She would be amazing in that situation and I would definitely get her on hunting duty. Four made my list mainly because I am in love with him, but he’d definitely be good in that situation too. Carlisle is a brilliant choice, I didn’t even think of him but he’d definitely be useful! Here’s my TTT.

    • I had to being Four because I too am completely in love with him, haha. He’s a babe, nothing against having him on the island. Thanks for your comment, I’m checking out your picks now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

