Book-tube-a-thon update: Day Two

I just finished reading my first book for book-tube-a-thon, namely The Water Wars by Cameron Stracher. I’ll be honest. It was terrible.

Really, really terrible.

I’ll be writing a lengthy review in the future (that’s my plan, at least, which I hope to stick to) in which I will explain why I disliked this book so much, but I can assure you that having a protagonist I can’t relate to is a surefire way to ruin my book reading experience. Vera, the main character, I thought was dull and had strange impulses to do or say things at the weirdest moments. The biggest example for this is her being handcuffed in the back of a truck, held at gunpoint to shut her up, and her having the impulse to basically nudge her brother and tell him that they’d apparently just driven into Minnesota. … You’re being held at gunpoint. Being held against your will. I don’t get the sudden GPS urge, but okay!

Like I said, I’ll have a review up sometime soon. For now, I’m moving on to a second book for this book-tube-a-thon:

SAMSUNG The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau!

I’m still sticking to the smaller books for now, as I’m hoping that my experience with The City of Ember will be a good one in comparison to The Water Wars. I did not want to start a lengthier book with a bad aftertaste of a previous one, which is why I’m going for this one in the hopes that I’ll be all rejuvenated and happy to start the next book.

Bonus: one of the ‘requests’ at the book-tube-a-thon Twitter was to take a photo of your book with an item in a color that was also represented on the book cover.

IMG_20140715_082130I went for this:

1405446846474I tried to be all artistic and made a photo with a candle in the background, cause, you know, flame and ember and … yeah. You get it, right? Haha, even so, look at that book! It’s the coolest book in cooltown! (that was a reference to a book I haven’t even read, cough)

Good luck with your reading, and if you’re not joining in on this entire event, I hope you have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

