Book review: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles, #2)Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

After finishing Cinder back in December of 2013, it was a matter of getting my hands on books two and three in order to finish The Lunar Chronicles. With the help of my friend Andrea I managed to get my hands on a copy of the second book in the series titled Scarlet — the sequel to Cinder that would deal with new characters and an entirely new setting in a different part of the world the story is set in. Admittedly I started this series all the way back in March as my go-to book on the train to school, but I fell out of reading it and ended up putting it to the side in favor of other books. Needless to say it took me forever to finish this, but I was not disappointed.

Scarlet introduces a new character by the name of Scarlet Benoit, a girl living in France, and from the beginning I was kind of scratching my head wondering how this was at all relevant to what had happened in Cinder. After all, all the happenings in the first book took place in a completely different place in the world, and at first there were very little similarities to it. Soon enough though, mentions of Cinder and happenings from book one started to surface and I caught myself clapping my hands in excitement.

I love Meyer’s writing style because it isn’t too complicated or annoyingly over the top, and she managed to continue this way of writing in this second book. It felt very consistent to the first, with an introduction at the beginning, a solid story for the center and a big booming finale for the end. Because of this, Scarlet can even be viewed as a stand-alone for those who have not or will not read book one. The happenings of book one are summarized in such a way that you have the gist of what’s going on and know enough to proceed with the information given to you.

Another new character introduced was Wolf, one who didn’t really stick with me much at the beginning but who became a lot more interesting as the book progressed. His relationship with Scarlet was one I was not particularly invested in from the beginning, but grew on me as time went by. Although I could’ve done without some of the rash decisions Scarlet made about halfway through the book on the accounts of insta-infatuation, she redeemed herself later on in the story and I felt that taking a point off the final rating was not necessary.

Mixing all the storylines together and watching everything fold into one nice little interwoven story was probably my favorite moment during the entire process of reading and I have to give Meyer props for this. Intertwining different storylines is, in my opinion, very difficult, as the information you give can become a wave of unnecessary information or one giant ball of confusion. This was not the case in Scarlet – in fact, I was sitting here cheering when everything came together.

Pacing of the story in general was fine, I wasn’t particularly interested in everything happening in Paris at first, but that became interesting with Cinder discovering the hidden room a little later in the story. Everything in the Commonwealth I loved and never tired of hearing about (but this might be because I’m completely biased towards Cinder and Kai) and once again Queen Levana and her little minions managed to make me want to rip my book apart in frustration – everything I expect from the bad guys.

Cannot, I repeat, cannot wait for things to unfold in Cress, so I’m going to have to get my hands on the final book as soon as possible in order to finish this fantastic Lunar fantasy story.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Book review: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

